Hit enter to search or ESC to close

What You Need to Know About KC’s Mayoral Election

Learn who the 11 mayoral candidates are and where to vote

KC mayoral candidates Kansas City's mayoral candidates are (clockwise from top left) Quinton Lucas, Alissia Canada, Steve Miller, Jolie Justus, Vincent Lee, Jermaine Reed, Scott Taylor, Scott Wagner, Clay Chastain, Henry Klein and (center) Phil Glynn.
Share this story

With Sly James’ term coming to an end, Kansas Citians will choose their next mayor this year.

There’s a large field, and lots of dates to remember, so Flatland has compiled some key information for you. So, c’mon folks, get out and vote. Turnout four years ago was anemic – the weakest showing since the Bee Gees and KC And The Sunshine Band were topping the music charts.

Flatland posted a call-for-questions last month inviting all Kansas Citians to submit the questions you’d like to ask the candidates.

Who’s running? (As of Feb. 11)

Key dates

  • Last day to register to vote: March 6
  • Primary election: April 2
  • General election: June 18

Voter information

See our GIF below of how to find your district on kcmo.gov

This year’s municipal elections in Kansas City, Missouri, promise sweeping political changes in the metropolitan area’s largest city. A new mayor and a host of freshmen council members will emerge when the final votes are counted in June. Kansas City PBS will focus its election coverage on three topics that these new elected officials will face: affordable housing, violent crime and business tax incentives. We will tell our stories from some of Kansas City’s most hard-pressed neighborhoods. Keep tabs on our coverage by following us on social at #WhoWillLeadKC